Business Investment and Growth (BIG) Program

According to the Independent Community Bankers of America, community banks make 53 percent of all small business loans in the United States despite having only 21 percent of deposits in the banking system.

The Business Investment and Growth (BIG) Program was developed by WSSC to assist community banks in providing capital to local businesses. Eligible banks must be headquartered in Montgomery or Prince George’s County Maryland and meet standards established by WSSC.

WSSC will deposit $12 million to participating community banks that will leverage those deposits 2:1, creating $24 million in available funding for loans to local businesses.

Bank eligibility requirements:

  • Headquartered in Prince George’s or Montgomery County, Maryland;
  • Assets > $200 million and < $10 billion;
  • Green or better Veribanc rating
  • Cannot be subject to an adverse agreement with a regulatory authority; and
  • Must lend within 12 months of commitment by WSSC.

Participating Banks Point of Contact:

Capital Bank Nikhil Bijlani
Product Mgr
240-669-2425
Ext. 1231
NBijlani@capitalbankmd.com
Colombo Bank Gerald A. Muccioli
EVP, Chief Lending Officer
410-387-2605
410-215-8188
gMuccioli@ColomboBank.com
Congressional Bank Tony Delucca
SVP, Commercial Lending Mgr
240-380-1251 tdelucca@congressionalbank.com
EagleBank Terrence Beverly
SVP, C&I Relationship Mgr
202-292-1638 tbeverly@eaglebankcorp.com
Old Line Bank David Seyler
SVP, Cash Mgmt Services
301-430-2509 dseyler@oldlinebank.com
Revere Bank Kenneth White
VP
240-264-5384
240-691-9430
Kenneth.white@reverebank.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BIG is another example of WSSC’s commitment to the economic development of the communities that we serve. These local investments help to generate jobs and provide WSSC with a competitive rate of return on its deposits. The program adds another dimension to WSSC’s role as an economic engine in the region.

For more information on BIG, contact the WSSC Chief Financial Officer at 301-206-7051.