WASHINGTON SUBURBAN SANITARY COMMISSION MINUTES OF THE COMMISSION MEETING

Wednesday, March 1, 2010 Laurel, Maryland

Vice Chair Gene Counihan called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m. on the telephone line 1-877-858-9842 with Guest Speaker Code 0225 and Guest Listener Code 251-800-914-8405. Due notice had been given to all members of the Commission and the public. Vice Chair Joyce Starks, Commissioners Prem P. Agarwal, Adrienne Mandel, Dr. Roscoe M. Moore, Jr., and Antonio Jones were present at the meeting. Also, present were: General Manager Jerry N. Johnson, Deputy General Manager Teresa Daniell, Corporate Secretary Charlett Bundy, General Counsel, Jerry Blask, and Chief Finance Officer Tom Traber.

AGENDA APPROVAL

Commissioner Agarwal moved to approve the agenda for March 1, 2010. Commissioner Moore seconded the motion. The motion carried with six affirmative votes.

Commissioner Mandel moved to transmit a budget to the

County Councils of Montgomery and Prince George's with an 8.75% rate increase that included the deductions listed on page three of the WSSC Fiscal Year 2011 Draft Budget published for public comment (see Exhibit A attached) and distributed in the meeting packet as well as a reduction for the One-time High Bill Reduction Program. Chair Counihan seconded the motion. During discussion, Commissioner Mandel withdrew her motion.

Further discussion ensued after which Commissioner Agarwal moved to transmit the WSSC Fiscal Year 2011 Operating and Capital Budgets to the Montgomery County Council and the Prince George's County Council with an 8.5% rate increase and adding the deductions listed on page three of the WSSC FY 2011 Draft Budget published for public comment (see Exhibit A attached) and distributed in the meeting packet as well as deductions for the following three items: costs for merit increases for all WSSC employees; a half million dollars from the Miss Utility budgeted item; and the costs related to the One-time High Bill Reduction Program. Commissioner Jones seconded the motion. Chair Counihan called for a roll call vote. The tally of that vote

was: Chair Counihan - aye; Commissioner Agarwal - aye;
Commissioner Mandel - aye; Commissioner Jones - aye;
Commissioner Moore - aye; Vice Chair Starks - aye. Thus, the
motion carried unanimously.

Adjournment

Thereafter, at 4:29 p.m. Commissioner Moore moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Agarwal seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously and at 4:30 p.m. Chair Counihan declared the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Charlett Bundy Corporate Secretary

EXHIBIT A