# WASHINGTON SUBURBAN SANITARY COMMISSION MINUTES OF THE COMMISSION MEETING

Monday, September 27, 2012 Laurel, Maryland

Chair Chris Lawson called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m. over the phone. Vice Chair Gene Counihan, Commissioners Roscoe M. Moore, Jr., Melanie Hartwig-Davis, Antonio Jones, and Adrienne Mandel also appeared by telephone. Others attended in the Commissioners' Conference Room of the Richard G. Hocevar Building, 14501 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, MD 20707, with due notice having been given to all members of the Commission and the public. Chair Lawson called the roll to confirm sufficient attendance to constitute a quorum. The roll call resulted in the following Commissioners indicating their presence on the telephone: Vice Chair Counihan, Roscoe M. Moore, Jr., Antonio Jones, Melanie Hartwig-Davis, and Adrienne Mandel. Corporate Secretary Charlett Bundy present also by phone and General Manager Jerry Johnson, Chief Finance Officer Tom Traber and General Counsel Jerry Blask were present in the Commissioners Conference Room along with other WSSC staff.

## AGENDA APPROVAL

Commissioner Mandel moved to approve the agenda for the meeting Thursday September 27, 2012. Commissioner Jones seconded the motion. A roll call vote was called by Chair Moore resulting in aye votes from the following Commissioners: Mr. Lawson, Mr. Jones, Ms. Mandel, Dr. Moore, Mr. Counihan, and Ms. Hartwig-Davis. The motion carried with six affirmative votes.

### FINANCE OFFICE

Capital Improvements Program. Mr. Traber advised

Commissioners that by law, WSSC is mandated to submit to the

County Executive of Montgomery County and Prince George's County
on or before October 1<sup>st</sup> of each year, a copy of the WSSC Capital

Improvements Program (CIP). Two public hearings on the CIP were
held on September 12 in Montgomery County and September 13, 2012
in Prince George's County. As of the start of the Commission
meeting, no additional comments had been received. Vice Chair

Counihan then moved to transmit the FY 2014-2019 CIP to the County

Executive in Prince George's County and Montgomery County.

Commissioner Jones seconded the motion. A roll call vote was
called by Chair Lawson resulting in six aye votes from the
following Commissioners: Mr. Counihan, Ms. Hartwig-Davis, Mr.

Jones, Ms. Mandel, Chair Lawson, and Dr. Moore. The motion carried.

#### COMMISSIONERS

Standard Procedure GOV 13-01. Mr. Counihan presented the Commissioners with a document containing revisions from General Counsel's Office. Vice Chair Counihan moved to adopt Standard Procedure GOV 13-01 that establishes a procedure for the Commissioners Engineering Scholarship. Commissioner Jones seconded the motion. General Counsel noted two typos: one after Joyce Starks in Section I and the letter "d" in Section III needing deletion. Vice Chair Counihan accepted these comments as technical amendments. Chair Lawson called for the vote: Vice Chair Counihan voted aye; Mr. Jones voted yea; Commissioner Mandel voted aye, Commissioner Hartwig-Davis voted yea; Dr. Moore voted yes; and Chair Lawson voted yes. The motion carried.

### Adjournment

Commissioner Mandel moved to adjourn the meeting.

Commissioner Hartwig-Davis seconded the motion. A roll call vote was called by Chair Lawson resulting in aye votes from the following Commissioners: Mr. Counihan, Ms. Hartwig-Davis, Ms.

Mandel, Mr. Jones, Dr. Moore, and Mr. Lawson. The motion carried with five affirmative votes. At 3:13 p.m. Chair Lawson declared the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

//signed// Charlett Bundy. Esq. Corporate Secretary