WASHINGTON SUBURBAN SANITARY COMMISSION MINUTES OF THE COMMISSION MEETING

Thursday, September 25, 2014 Laurel, Maryland

Chair Omar M. Boulware (participating by phone) called the special meeting to order at 2:14 p.m., in the Commissioners' Conference Room, of the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (hereinafter "WSSC"), Richard G. Hocevar Building, 14501 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, Maryland 20707, with due notice having been given to all members of the Commission and the public. In addition to the Chair, Commissioners Gene W. Counihan, Chris Lawson and Mary Hopkins Navies, also participated by telephone. WSSC Corporate Secretary Sheila R. Finlayson (who facilitated the telephone meeting and recorded the minutes), along with Acting Chief Financial Officer Chris Cullinan, Acting Budget Group Leader Letitia Carolina-Powell, and Budget Unit Coordinator Mark Brackett were present in person in the Commissioners' Conference Room. General Manager Jerry N. Johnson and Associate Counsel Laura Swisher joined the meeting by phone. The Chair asked the Corporate Secretary to conduct a roll call to confirm the Commissioner attendees by phone, and following such action, the Corporate Secretary declared the presence of a quorum, with four Commissioners in attendance and two absent (Commissioners Adrienne A. Mandel and Roscoe M. Moore, Jr.).

The Acting Chair stated the purpose of the special meeting, which is to Approve the Transmittal of WSSC's Proposed Capital Improvements Program ("CIP") for FY 2016-2021 to the Prince George's County and Montgomery County Governments.

AGENDA APPROVAL

Commissioner Navies then moved to adopt the Agenda for the Special Commission Public Meeting of Thursday, September 25, 2014, as drafted. Commissioner Lawson seconded the motion. A roll call vote was conducted by the Corporate Secretary, resulting in four votes in the affirmative from the following Commissioners: Omar Boulware, Gene Counihan, Chris Lawson and Mary Hopkins Navies. Commissioners Adrienne Mandel and Roscoe Moore, were absent from the vote. The motion carried by a vote of four-to-zero, two absent.

Approval of Transmittal of Proposed CIP to Counties. Acting Chief Financial Officer Chris Cullinan advised that the Commission is required to prepare and submit a copy of WSSC's Proposed Capital Improvements Program (CIP) to the two County Governments by October 1^{st} of each year, and is therefore requesting approval to carry-out this mandate as required by Maryland law. Total CIP Program totals \$4,162,526,000.00; no substantive changes made to the CIP document since the work-session conducted at the July 16, 2014 Commission Meeting and two public hearings were held in each County (one on September 9, 2014 in Prince George's County and one on September 10, 2014 in Montgomery County). The hearings were lightly attended and there were no questions or concerns directly related to the CIP document, however, speakers did comment on items included on their WSSC quarterly bills and County property tax bills (i.e., Bay Restoration Fees, Account Maintenance Fees and Front Foot Benefit Fees), which WSSC management addressed. Complete transcripts of each hearing were provided in the meeting materials and are incorporated herein by reference.

Following discussion, Commissioner Lawson moved to approve the Transmittal of WSSC's Proposed CIP for Fiscal Years 2016-2021 to the Prince George's County and Montgomery County Governments.

Commissioner Counihan seconded the motion. A roll call vote was conducted by the Corporate Secretary resulting in four affirmative votes from the following Commissioners: Omar Boulware, Gene Counihan, Chris Lawson, and Mary Hopkins Navies. Commissioners Adrienne Mandel and Roscoe Moore were absent from the vote. The motion carried by a vote of four-to-zero with two absent.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no additional business, the Chair called for a motion to adjourn, whereby, Commissioner Counihan moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Navies seconded the motion. A roll call vote was conducted by the Corporate Secretary resulting in four aye votes from the following Commissioners: Omar Boulware, Gene Counihan, Chris Lawson and Mary Hopkins Navies. Commissioners Adrienne Mandel and Roscoe Moore were absent from the vote. The motion carried with four affirmative votes.

At 2:21 p.m., the meeting was declared adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

//signed//

Sheila R. Finlayson, Esq. Corporate Secretary