WASHINGTON SUBURBAN SANITARY COMMISSION MINUTES OF THE COMMISSION MEETING

Tuesday, February 1, 2013 Laurel, Maryland

Chair Chris Lawson called the meeting to order at 10:33 a.m. by telephone, with due notice having been given to all members of the Commission and the public.

Chair Lawson called the roll for attendance with the following indicating their presence by telephone: Vice Chair Gene Counihan, Commissioners Adrienne A. Mandel, Antonio L. Jones, Roscoe M. Moore, Jr., and Melanie Hartwig-Davis. Present were General Manager Jerry Johnson (by telephone), General Counsel Jerry Blask and Corporate Secretary Charlett Bundy.

AGENDA APPROVAL

Vice Chair Counihan moved to approve the agenda for the WSSC Commission meeting for Tuesday February 1, 2013. Commissioner Hartwig-Davis seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following roll call votes: Vice Chair Counihan, Commissioners Mandel, Moore, Jones, Hartwig-Davis and Chair Lawson, each voting aye resulting in six affirmative votes.

Legislative Items

MC/PG 104-13. On Bill Financing. Staff recommended no support of this bill designed to allow for the financing of water saving devices for homes and allowing the Commission to issue debt to cover the cost. An earlier motion made by Commissioner Hartwig-Davis was withdrawn and she made a new motion to take no position. Vice Chair Counihan seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following roll calls: Vice Chair Counihan, Commissioners Mandel, Moore, Jones, Hartwig-Davis and Chair Lawson, each voting aye resulting in six affirmative votes.

MC/PG 114-13 and 115-13. Staff recommended that the Commission oppose these bills which require certain notices posted for leaks and overflows. These issues are already covered by Maryland Code of Regulations, the Public Utility Code, and the Consent Decree. Vice Chair Counihan moved to oppose both bills. Commissioner Jones seconded the motion. After considerable discussion, Vice Chair Counihan withdrew his motion and moved that the Commission take no position. Commissioner Mandel seconded the revised motion. The motion carried with the following roll call votes: Vice Chair Counihan, Commissioners Mandel, Moore, Jones, Hartwig-Davis and Chair Lawson, each voting aye resulting in six affirmative votes. Venue Bill. Chair Lawson advised there was no support for this bill from the Prince George's Government. He recommended that the bill be withdrawn and considered next year to give WSSC an opportunity to explain why the bill is needed. Vice Chair Counihan moved that the Commission withdraw its position on the bill. Commissioner Jones seconded the motion. Additional discussion took place about the need to provide an understanding why Montgomery County residents need to participate in legal matters impacting WSSC. When the vote was taken, the motion carried with the following roll call votes: Vice Chair Counihan, Commissioners Mandel, Moore, Jones, Hartwig-Davis and Chair Lawson, each voting aye resulting in six affirmative votes.

2

MC/PG 106-13. It was noted that there is opposition to the proposal because the proposed salary is greater than the salary of the members of the Prince George's County Board of Education. Vice Chair Counihan moved to add an amendment of a salary range from \$22,500 and \$22,000 to \$20,500 and \$20,000 commencing on October 1, 2014. After further discussion, Commissioners reached a consensus to take no action. Following this discussion, Vice Chair Counihan left the meeting at 11:26 a.m.

Watershed Regulations. Mr. Johnson explained the approval process of the Watershed Regulations noting that Commissioners would not vote to approve the Regulations. The Regulations will be posted on the WSSC web site for public comment after which staff would review the comments to see if any further changes would be proposed. Commissioners agreed that Mr. Johnson should move the advertisement announcing the Regulations back a week to give additional time for review/feedback from Commissioners.

At 11:38 a.m. Mr. Johnson disconnected from the meeting.

Adjournment

At 11:42 p.m. Commissioner Jones moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Hartwig-Davis seconded the motion. Chair called the roll for the vote. The motion carried with the following roll call votes: Commissioners Mandel, Moore, Jones, Hartwig-Davis and Chair Lawson, each voting aye resulting in five affirmative votes. At 11:45 p.m. the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

//signed//____ Charlett Bundy Corporate Secretary