Former Maryland State Senator Howard A. Denis Appointed WSSC Commissioner Serving Montgomery County

| News Release



Laurel – January 20, 2016 – Montgomery County Executive Isiah Leggett named former state senator and Chevy Chase resident Howard A. Denis to serve as Commissioner on the WSSC governing board. After being confirmed by the Montgomery County Council yesterday, his tenure begins today during this month’s scheduled Commission meeting.

Denis’ experience spans almost four decades in public service. He recently retired after serving over 20 years on the Congressional Staff on the House Oversight & Government Reform Committee. He previously served for 18 years as a Maryland State Senator (1977-1995) and six years on the Montgomery County Council (2000-2006). He brings strong leadership and a track record of representing and working for the people of Montgomery County.

“I am very excited to start another chapter in my career representing not only the residents of Montgomery County, but also my neighbors” said Denis. "I feel like a link in the chain with so many people I know who have served. I look forward to being a part of a great tradition and I hope to make a contribution to WSSC and our customers."

Denis fills the seat vacated by Republican Dr. Roscoe Moore, Jr.  The seat vacated by the Hon. Adrienne Mandel has yet to be filled.

Commissioners are appointed to four-year terms by the Montgomery and Prince George’s County Executives. Each county appoints three Commissioners.

For 100 years, WSSC has proudly served the citizens of Prince George’s and Montgomery counties – providing drinking water that has always met strict Safe Drinking Water Act standards and protecting the environment through vital water resource recovery services. Our vision is to be THE world-class water utility, where excellent products and services are always on tap.


Last Modified: